Home » Featured, Premier League, Scotland

Conor Sammon named in PFA Scotland Team of the Year 2011

16 April 2011 3,142 views No Comment Written by Ronan

Dubliner Conor Sammon was today named in the PFA Scotland Team of the Year 2011. The 24 year old was included for his achievements up front with Kilmarnock before moving to Wigan in January.

Sammon scored fourteen league goals in 22 Scottish Premier League games for Kilmarnock, and linked up fantasically with midfielder Alexei Eremenko before Roberto Martinez swooped for him on transfer deadline day in January. Sammon has yet to start for Wigan, but has looked solid in cameo roles from the bench.

Sammon’s inclusion in the Team of the Year means there is no room for fellow Irish striker Anthony Stokes, who has scored thirteen times for Celtic this season, or for former Rangers forward Kenny Miller, who has since joined Bursaspor in Turkey.

Cheque Centre PFA Scotland Team of The Year 2011:
McGregor (Rangers); Wilson (Celtic), Zaliukas (Hearts), Bougherra (Rangers), Izaguirre (Celtic); Naismith (Rangers), Kayal (Celtic), Eremenko (Kilmarnock); Goodwillie (Dundee United), Sammon (Kilmarnock), Hooper (Celtic).

Related posts:

  1. Conor Sammon moves to Wigan
  2. Kilmarnock eager to keep hold of Sammon
  3. Sammon rejects move to Scunthorpe
  4. James McCarthy and Conor Doyle named in U21 squad
  5. Irish Goalscorers: 20 November 2010

Leave your response!

Add your comment below, or trackback from your own site. You can also subscribe to these comments via RSS.

Be nice. Keep it clean. Stay on topic. No spam.

You can use these tags:
<a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>

This is a Gravatar-enabled weblog. To get your own globally-recognized-avatar, please register at Gravatar.